CMS Message after deleting datamodel with relations connected to it
After deleting a datamodel from within the CMS, all links to this now-deleted datamodel from other datamodels (like pages) are useless, error-prone and causing garbage in the database. There should be some warning to the CMS user after deleting a datamodel, if there are relations to that model!
Russell Michell commented
I don't think a warning to CMS users is a good idea at all. Most CMS users are using a CMS precisely because they are non-technical people and rely on developers like us, to have done this work for them.
I totally agree with the database cleanup issue however, so if possible, I'd suggest this suggestion be re-title to: "Auto Data Model cleanup" or similar.
Interestingly I spotted a Google Groups thread on this yesterday from 2012. As such, I have re-raised it in a framework issue here: https://github.com/silverstripe/silverstripe-framework/issues/5290